The EU approves the entry of Romania and Bulgaria into the Schengen area

The European Union has agreed at the end of this Saturday the incorporation of Romania and Bulgaria to the Schengen area in the coming months. Years after starting the process, it was only a few hours before the end of the Spanish presidency of the Council of the EU when the Twenty-seven finally agreed, for unanimitythe “full incorporation” of these countries into an area that will now have 29 members.

A year ago the entry of Croatiaalthough it has not been until now, when Austria has lifted its veto, when these countries have managed to join space. Romania and Bulgaria have been members of the European Union since 2007, but the misgivings about immigration of Vienna, have dragged out this process for years.

The process will be carried out gradually starting next Marchwhen it will be effective in the maritime and air borders. In the terrestrial It will be done later, after the negotiations between Vienna, Sofia and Bucharest.

The president of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, has celebrated this agreement that “will make Schengen even stronger” and has stated that both Romania and Bulgaria deserve it for having “worked hard for it.”

Post Comment